top of page
Search

Strawberry fields forever

Updated: Sep 26, 2022

This summer was hectic for me but last month was the first time in 1.5 years I went back to school. I meant to set aside time to write a summer blog post, and here it is finally.


I was fortunate enough to be selected for an internship at Stanford University's Earth Sciences department. I conducted a formal research report by developing complex analyses based on paleontological data with two other interns. Through R and the Stanford Earth Body Size dataset, we were able to examine extinction risk in relation to the Paleozoic phyla and various biological and ecological traits. We received significant results as our program determined which phyla and biological/ecological traits incited greater extinction risk in each period.


Ultimately, I learned a lot in this brief period including how body size research can shed light on underlying processes that shape biodiversity patterns. I am so grateful for this opportunity as we presented our findings to the Stanford Faculty and in the winter, we will showcase our results at the American Geophysical Union conference. The summer was an awesome experience as I was able to combine my passions of environmental science and computer science.


Now let's go back to my garden updates. July 2021 stood alone as the world's hottest month ever recorded and unfortunately plants are further subject to heat related problems. Many vegetables like tomatoes and squash experienced a delayed start this year but that also implies that there will be a late end of harvest. With the mercury rising, I figured out how to be resourceful when watering. My sprinklers autonomously water my beds every other morning to ensure the water is absorbed into the soil. Less is more if you adopt watering early in the day. If you water mid-day or in the evenings, the sun is intense and the water may evaporate easily, preventing the absorption of water from the soil and plants.


Despite the heat consequences, the high temperatures have been great for my strawberries and tomatoes. The thrill of producing your own strawberries is something else. My garden bed has prospered with strawberry creepers. I noticed that the store bought ones can’t compare to the rich and juicy taste of the berries from the garden. I typically plant them in early spring and space them out since they are perennial. This method allows them to grow rapidly by summer and continue to produce fruits until the first frost. Be sure to harvest them early in the day and then submerge them in water before serving.


This warmth has been terrific for my tomatoes as I was amazed with a sudden surplus of organic heirloom tomatoes. Their flavors are outstanding as my mom rarely needs to purchase grocery store tomatoes for her meals. "Brandywine" and "Cherokee Purple" are my favorite ones yet.








It's been breathtaking to witness all the blueberries, summer squash, carrots, cucumber, eggplant, petit peppers, okra, garlic, and potatoes. In addition to amending the original soil over time, I have begun adding compost to my soil. I also strive to make this a family endeavor. I encourage my family to get their hands dirty and harvest their own vegetables and fruits. The multi sensory experience of handling the food we nurture is overwhelming. Gardening isn't always simple and easy but it is worth all these special moments. Shortly it will be my third year growing vegetables and fruits and I can’t stress enough how relaxing this experience has been through all my school work and other challenges. There is something about observing the bees and hummingbirds prancing around the blooming strawberries that makes it the perfect stress reliever for a never ending pandemic.


The 2021 IPCC report on climate crisis is here and several changes are regrettably irreversible. As wildfires, hurricanes, and floods cause widespread death and destruction, we should all pledge to establish a movement NOW to grow and supplement our own food to reduce the alarming carbon footprint.


268 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page