top of page
Search

Every day is Earth Day

Updated: Apr 16, 2021

It's hard to imagine it has been over a year since the pandemic began, and this is my second Earth Day blog post. I hope everyone has made plans to receive their vaccines, so we can eventually get back to the lives that we once held. Lately, I have been fascinated by sustainable technology solutions. It is a relatively new topic for me. When I was developing my wearable device prototype, I was astonished to read about how much power is utilized by connected devices. I have frequently checked the Energy Dashboard of my Alexa app to track the power consumed by the smart devices at our home, and have sort of taken the lead in creating automatic light off routines. I also find myself checking our devices to make sure they are manufactured from sustainable materials, like die-cast aluminum or recycled fabric. Packaging is also something that I observe. After all, every day is Earth Day.


Technology is constantly changing, which means consumers regularly upgrade their own devices. Every appliance disposed incorrectly contributes to a greater threat. In the U.S. alone, consumers dispose of millions of pounds of electronics annually, but only 20% is properly recycled. The rest ends up in our landfills. These days, companies have introduced several buy-back plans to precisely address this issue.





Consumer Technology companies have had to augment their efforts on green initiatives and sustainability. These days, large companies are using sustainability as a market differentiator, as millennial consumers look for brands that implement CSR. Nielson found that “66% of global consumers say they are willing to pay more for sustainable brands — up 55% from 2014.” Apple, Dell, Amazon, Google, and other crucial technology companies have devised pledges in the last year to reduce their carbon footprint and improve sustainability initiatives. Amazon is establishing new wind and solar farms to produce clean energy, equivalent to the electricity used by their ambient devices. In 2019, Amazon co-founded The Climate Pledge and committed to be net zero carbon by 2040, 10 years ahead of the Paris Agreement. Apple entirely operates on renewable energy, and their products are designed to have minimal environmental impact. HP reached its goal of 100% zero deforestation with their own brand of paper. Microsoft and Samsung sources recycle and reuse materials as much as feasible. Facebook's operations are now 100% driven by renewable energy, therefore encouraging them to reach their goals of net zero emissions. Green Software Engineering is an emerging discipline which incorporates software practices and hardware design to combat climate change.


As for me, I plan to track consumer technology companies, make my voice heard, and double down to ensure we are progressing towards a sustainable future. I also want to show my support for leaders that believe in preserving biodiversity, advancing green energy, green buildings, sustainable water management, and reducing the impacts of climate change.





272 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page