top of page
Search

Dinosaur Kale, anyone?

Updated: Feb 21, 2021

Are you tired of having the same boring sides? I know it’s hard to salivate on a kale salad, but hear me out. You will never feel that kale lacks flavor or is bitter after these simple nutritious recipes. Kale is such a versatile and excellent vegetable to farm due to its rapid growth and nutritious surplus. In my garden beds, I produce different varieties of kale including biennials, common curly kale, and the Lacinato (Dino Kale). Although this is merely my second year raising kale, I have produced a vast excess of kale which has allowed me to share my harvest with my neighbors.






If you are craving Beta Carotene and Vitamin K like me, here are some simple recipes that are nutritious. The Dino Kale's bittersweet flavor is superb for salads, soups, and smoothies. Moreover, attempt a couple of my favorite Kale recipes and let me know your favorites.


An excellent light snack is sautéed kale which takes little time to prepare. Prior to cooking, make sure to rinse the kale thoroughly after harvesting. You can combine several varieties to add to the flavor and it blends smoothly. Once you have your produce, chop the kale and toss it in a skillet with heated olive oil on medium heat. Lastly, add garlic flakes, pepper, salt, or whatever else you would like. It's as simple as that to make a light nutritious snack.


Another personal favorite is Potato-Kale soup, a creamy, rich and slightly buttery soup. The cream comes from the potato, so it's still beneficial. To begin, heat a stockpot and melt some butter. Immediately, add some garlic and saute some onions in the container. After adding potatoes, salt, and pepper, make sure to stir and cook for roughly 10 minutes. Thereafter, pour vegetable broth, lemon juice, kale, and basil to a boil. In the end, blend the mixture and add toppings like spring onions, cheddar, and chill flakes. This soup served with warm bread is perfect for winter to spring weather!


Kale smoothies can be individualized and effortless to make. In my smoothies, I blend yogurt, kale, frozen fruits and berries, a banana, orange juice to a fine consistency. Some other toppings you can use are granola, chia seeds, and honey.


Almost daily, I will consume a kale salad paired with cheese like Parmesan or Manchego. My go-to tangy salad is a lemon kale salad recipe with garlic and parmesan. To start, remove the leaves from the stalks and chop them finely. Then, prepare the dressing by pressing a lemon and mixing it with olive oil, salt, thyme, and pepper. Afterwards, pour the dressing into the kale and stir it well. I will usually sprinkle parmesan or Manchego cheese on it to finish. You can also add toasted nuts, croutons, or cranberries.


I hope you can try out and enjoy my recipes, even if you are ambivalent about kale :)


213 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page