top of page
Search

An "Optimistic" Phase Of S.I.P

Updated: Sep 13, 2020

Hello! I am back after a brief break with some good news. The Bay Area recorded zero deaths from the coronavirus for two days in a row. That's a spark of hope for all of us who helped flatten the curve by following these guidelines. I hope by now some of you had a chance to read my blog posts and made the first step towards creating your own victory garden. With certain restrictions easing off, nurseries are now opening up, so I plan to make a trip soon to support my local nursery as well as the garden department at Lowe’s.


I have been busy besides school assignments and projects during this break. I have been making time aside from my school work to see how I can help the global community and make an impact during COVID-19. In early May, a few kids from all over the world including myself came together to lend our voice to raise money for a much-needed cause. Here is the video.


If you truly want to make a difference, please consider supporting “One More Ventilator” - an effort by Route 55 volunteers to help a hospital fighting COVID-19. “ONE MORE VENTILATOR” is a fundraising drive for Sramajibi Hospital at Kolkata, India, currently an exclusive COVID-19 treatment facility. The goal is to help the hospital with life saving equipment for treating patients in respiratory distress. Here is the link if you want to make a difference and learn more.





I apologize for the slight change from my usual garden posts. I believe it's more relevant for families to step up during this pandemic to make a difference in the lives of those that are less fortunate than us.


On the garden front, I could not be happier with the steady supply of salads everyday. It has eliminated the need to buy this type of food since fall. We have harvested both green and red cabbage and continue to get fresh celery and cilantro delivered from garden to kitchen. The pepper plants are starting to bloom as well. The potato and summer squash plants have been sprouting too.











I am thrilled to update you that our tomatoes are growing and soon I'll have tomato bragging rights this year. Every tomato grower dreams of the perfect red, juicy, tangy fruit. However, growing tomatoes can be problematic, so it is important to choose the appropriate varieties. You should allow a lot of space as crowded conditions inhibit their growth. Also, it's important to give your plant firm support as they grow by attaching it to a wood structure. After your tomato plants grow about 3 ft tall, you should remove the older leaves from the foot of the stem, or they can produce fungi rapidly. Lastly, plant your tomatoes deeper than they come in the pot to allow them to develop roots.





The amount of water consumed by my garden beds has been bothering me, so I have been researching smart sensors. I'll be sure to let you know more of this soon.


I am searching for contributors to this blog who can also write about their vegetable gardening experience or other sustainable or eco-living practices. It would mean a lot if you can send a message if you would like to contribute and I will add you in.

128 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page